About Us

Better Communities. Better Lives.

Lower Mainland Local Government Association

The Lower Mainland Local Government Association is one of the 5 area associations of the UNION OF BC MUNICIPALITIES (UBCM).

It includes 30 local governments (from Pemberton to Hope) and 3 regional districts:

  1. Squamish Lillooet Regional District
  2. Metro Vancouver
  3. Fraser Valley Regional District.

The Lower Mainland Local Government Association is a non-profit organization whose purposes are:

  • To represent, in one organization, the various regional districts, and local governments of the Membership Area, as defined in the Bylaws;
  • To secure all possible united action in dealing with local government matters of interest to our members;
  • To cooperate with other organizations dealing with matters under Provincial or Federal jurisdiction;
  • To cooperate with the Union of BC Municipalities and other associations of municipalities in British Columbia for the advancement of the principles of local government;
  • To secure united action among its members and to promote greater autonomy within local government;
  • To acquire and distribute amongst the members, municipal information that may be deemed to be of value to members; and
  • To hold meetings for promoting the aforesaid purposes

To accomplish its purposes, the Lower Mainland Local Government Association has several committees who meet regularly to advance the goals of the Association.

First Nations’ Recognition

The Lower Mainland LGA recognizes that our members live on the traditional and unceded territories of the Katzie, Kwantlen, Kwikwetlem, Lil’wat, Musqueam, New Westminster(Qayqayt),  Semiahmoo, Sḵwx̱wú7mesh, Sto:lo, Ts’elxweyeqw and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

Your Link to UBCM


Lower Mainland Local Government Association is integrally involved with many UBCM initiatives and is represented on the UBCM executive through its president.

This role provides a conduit between the Lower Mainland Local Government Association membership and UBCM policy development. It is also an opportunity for Lower Mainland Local Government Association to be a voice for the Lower Mainland membership at UBCM so that issues most relevant to our membership are heard, discussed and acted on.

United in Our Approach

The UBCM was formed to provide a common voice for local government and this role is as important today as it was 100 years ago. The UBCM reflects the truth in the old adages “strength in numbers” and “united we stand – divided we fall”.

Aiding Policy Making

Convention continues to be the main forum for UBCM policy-making. It provides an opportunity for local governments of all sizes and from all areas of the province to come together, share their experiences and take a united position.

A Rich History

For UBCM’s first half-century the Area Associations as we know them today did not exist, although there were groups of members from different areas who worked together on regional issues. However, Lower Mainland Local Government Association members were involved in the formation of the UBCM: New Westminster hosted the first Convention, Mayor Keary of New Westminster was the first Secretary Treasurer and the second President and Reeves Ladner (Ladner), Sprott (Burnaby) and Paisley (Chilliwack) were three of the four general Executive members.

In addition, 15 Lower Mainland Local Government Association communities were among the original UBCM members. Lower Mainland Local Government Association members continue to be actively involved in the direction and operation of UBCM.

Scroll to Top